Leadership Institute

Better Men. Better Lives.

Leading with Courage, Action, & Excellence

Leading with courage is a core component of Delta Sigma Phi’s mission. The Leadership Institute (LI) is Delta Sigma Phi’s flagship educational program. This five-day institute offers an immersive experience that teaches values-based leadership through the foundation of Kouzes and Posner’s “The Five Practices of Exemplary Leadership.”

LI curriculum combines small- and large-group facilitated discussions, team-building activities, and high and low ropes-style challenge courses. Trained alumni volunteers and professional staff guide participants through the Leadership Institute.

Since 1993, this program has allowed undergraduate members to improve their individual, team, organizational and professional leadership skills. Participants create a Personal Development Plan to help them achieve goals in various aspects of their life. Formerly known as the College of Engineered Leadership, more than 1,100 participants have graduated from this program armed with the skills of principled leadership.


What Will You Learn?

As a result of attending Leadership Institute, members of Delta Sigma Phi will:

  • Be able to articulate their strengths and areas of improvement as a leader;
  • Be able to describe how they personally respond to change and how it affects those around them;
  • Create an action plan for accomplishing personal goals and/or goals of an organization in which they hold membership.

Leadership Institute 2019

2019 Dates TBD

Location TBD

Applications are currently closed. LI 2019 applications will open February, 2019.

Have Questions?

Contact or Call 317.634.1899

Applications are currently closed. LI 2019 applications will open February, 2019.


Leadership Institute challenged me to go outside of my comfort zone as a leader. Through learning about and practicing the five exemplary leadership practices, I was able to improve my leadership skills.


Introducing the Leadership Institute Class of 2018 – Alpha Beta

Congratulations to the 2018 LI Alpha Beta Class!

For 26 years, Delta Sigma Phi has offered undergraduate leaders a unique opportunity to explore their leadership skills and build capacity to impact the fraternity throughout their lifetime. The Leadership Institute is a highly selective five-day program, and this year we are pleased to have 49 of Delta Sig’s most promising young members attend.

Ben Hood

Oho Northern University '17

Benjamin Garness

University of Pittsburgh ’16

Benjamin Macomber

University of Idaho ’17

Brandon Goodwin

San Diego State University ’17

Cameron Hryb

University of North Carolina at Charlotte ’17

Carter Smeader

Eastern Michigan University ’17

Charles Meyers

Gannon University ’17

Chris Donnelly

Florida International University ’16

Cory Freeman

University of Central Florida ’16

Dillon Williams

Eastern Michigan University ’17

Dustin Duncan

Florida International University ’18

Dylan Rood

Western Carolina University ’18

Erick Contreras

University of California, Irvine ’16

Francesco Serio

Transylvania University '17

Gavin Husted

Shorter University '16

Ian Klever

Ohio Northern University '16

Jacob Forbes

Washington State University '17

Jared Gheen

Utah State University '18

Jason Durnil

University of Northern Colorado '16

Javier Hernandez

Woodbury University '17

Jayden Howell

Utah State University '16

John Hotaling

Stetson University '15

John Miller

University of California Los Angeles '16

Josh Porter

Transylvania University '16

Joshua Mosley

California State University, San Bernardino '15

Justin Corp

Millikin University '17

Kian Dalvandi

University of Texas '16

Kishan Patel

Gannon University '17

Laton Schnetzler

Eureka College '16

Matinicus Csenger

Stetson University '16

Matt Mindrup

Kansas State University '15

Michael Figelman

Drexel University '17

Nathan Tesmer

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse '15

Nicholas Evans

Oglethorpe University '17

Rafik Vardanyan

Woodbury University '15

Raymond Camarena-Gonzales

California State University, San Bernardino '17

Roberto Camarillo

University of Texas at Tyler '17

Ross Ramsey

University of Wisconsin- La Crosse '15

Sahel Negash

University of Northern Colorado '15

Sean Carpenter

Shorter University '17

Soham Naik

South Dakota School of Mines '16

Stephen Harr

Kennesaw State University '16

Taner Telci

University of Florida '18

Trey Cobb

University of Texas at Tyler '17

Tyler Gunn

University of Louisiana at Monroe '16

Tyler Neca

San Jose State University '17

Vincente Villarreal

Texas State University '16

Zachary Tiesing

Missouri University of Science &Technology '17

Better Men. Better Lives.