Delta Sigma Phi awards its chapters and individual members with several honors for outstanding success. Here is a list of our most recent award recipients.

Individual Awards

Mr. Delta Sig Award
2015 recipient:
Louis Ripberger, Purdue University ’74
The highest award the Fraternity can present to an alumnus, this award recognizes an individual who has given extraordinary service to the Fraternity over a sustained period of time. This award was first given in 1969.

E. Allen James Outstanding Undergraduate Award
2016 recipient:
 Cameron Carey, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse ’12
Honorable mentions: Nick Sweetman, Arizona State University, Steven Morrison, Shorter University
The highest award the Fraternity can present to an undergraduate member, is given annually to a brother who has contributed the most to his chapter and the Fraternity. The award is named for E. Allen James, North Carolina State University ’65, who served the Fraternity as Executive Director, member of the Grand Council and Delta Sigma Phi Foundation President.

Harvey H. Hebert Memorial Award
2015 recipients: Charlie Gilbert, Georgia Institute of Technology ’59; Michael Hoffman, Arizona State University ’85; Mark Kipp, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology ’80
This award is presented to alumni brothers who have performed an outstanding act for the good of the Fraternity or whose diligence persevering work have made them worthy of the award. The award was established in 1931 as a memorial to Harvey H. Hebert, an undergraduate who lost his life in a tragic automobile accident. It was the highest award an alumnus could receive until the Mr. Delta Sig Award was created in 1969.

Francis “Pete” Wacker Interfraternity Award
2015 recipient: Jim Ewbank, Phi Delta Theta Fraternity
This award for interfraternal service is presented to a member or nonmember who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of interfraternal cooperation or the improvement of his/her own fraternity, sorority or Greek world. The award is named for past Executive Director Francis “Pete” Wacker, Pennsylvania State University ’33, who was well-known in the interfraternal world having served as president of both the Fraternity Executives Association and the College Fraternity Editors Association (now the Fraternity Communications Association).

Russell T. Roebuck Outstanding National Volunteer Award
2015 recipient: Barry Kalian, California State University, Sacramento ’85
This award is presented to a national volunteer who has performed outstanding service in his volunteer efforts. It is named for Russell T. Roebuck, Barton College ’58, who served the Fraternity as National President.

Charles G. Bartell Outstanding Chapter Advisor Award
2015 recipient: Marc West, Wittenberg University ’84
This award recognizes a Chapter Advisor or Alumni Corporation Board member for exceptional service to undergraduate chapters. It is named for its first recipient, Charles G. Bartell, University of Idaho ’54, who served as Chapter Advisor for his home chapter for three decades.

Order of the Sphinx
2014-2015 recipients: Click here for full list.
The Order of the Sphinx is given annually to undergraduates nominated by their chapter or national officer for outstanding contributions to their chapter, campus and the Fraternity.

Chapter Awards

The chapter awards application can be found here. 

Pyramid of Excellence Award
The highest award given to undergraduate chapters for excellence in all areas of operation.
2015-2016 recipients: 
Beta Mu – Transylvania University
Delta Epsilon – Missouri University of Science & Technology
Theta Psi – Shorter University
Alpha Iota – The Ohio State University
Epsilon Kappa – Loyola University Chicago

Chapter Distinction Award
2015-2016 recipients:

Alpha Pi – Michigan State University
Iota Lambda – Appalachian State University

Grand Council Award
2015 recipient: Alpha Pi – Michigan State University Alumni Corporation Board
Given at the discretion of the Grand Council, this award honors meritorious service to a chapter of the Fraternity.

Executive Director Award
2015 recipient: Cody Dawson – Michigan State University ’02
Given at the discretion of the Executive Director, this award honors a member for exceptional service or achievement.

Robert R. Harris Recruitment Award
2015-2016 recipient: Gamma Rho – Gannon University
Honorable mentions: Alpha Iota – Ohio State, Alpha Pi – Michigan State
This award recognizes chapters who have made an effort to “Pay the Debt” by bringing men better than themselves in the Fraternity. It is named for Robert R. Harris, Saint Louis University ’88, who served his chapter as Rush Chairman and President, as well as the National Fraternity as Regional Leadership Director and Director of Expansion.

Ritual Award
2015-2016 recipient: Beta Mu – Transylvania University

Blood, Sweat & Cash
For outstanding philanthropic service to the American Red Cross.
2015-2016 recipient: Iota Delta – James Madison University
Honorable mention: Zeta Upsilon – Eureka College

Outstanding Community Service
2015-2016 recipient: Beta Mu – Transylvania University
Honorable mentions: Delta Epsilon – Missouri S&T, Alpha Lambda – Appalachain State

Outstanding Philanthropy
2015-2016 recipient: Theta Chi – University of Georgia
Honorable mention: Alpha Pi – Michigan State

Strong Leaders Award
2015-2016 recipient: Beta Mu – Transylvania University
Honorable mentions: Zeta Upsilon – Eureka College, Alpha Iota – Ohio State